#Author @truditrueit on #Reading and #Writing Favorites

trueitAuthor Trudi Trueit
What was the first book that you read that got you excited about reading?
Ramona the Pest by Beverly Cleary really got me hooked on reading, because it was the first character I can remember that I truly identified with. Like Ramona, I had an older sister who seemed to know everything about everything, while I was the one always asking the precocious questions or getting into trouble – just like Ramona! Ramona was sassy and she made me feel that there was someone in the world who understood me when no one else did, even if she only existed in the pages of a book.

What is your favorite thing about writing ?
I love developing characters. I enjoy the process of getting to know each of the characters in my story; discovering their strengths, weaknesses, fears, and hopes and then watching how they grow and change on the page. Some of them surprise me, some disappoint me, but they all teach me a little something about life.

StealingPopularCoverAbout Trudi Trueit
Trudi Trueit imagined a career as a novelist ever since writing, directing, and starring in her first play in the fourth grade (it got decent reviews). A former TV news reporter and weather forecaster, Trudi has published more than 90 fiction and nonfiction books for young readers. Her fiction novels include the Julep O’Toole series (Penguin), the Secrets of a Lab Rat series (Aladdin), and Stealing Popular (Aladdin MIX). Her nonfiction books for pre-k through middle school readers cover such topics as history, weather, wildlife, earth science, writing, education, and health. Recent titles include What is Poetry? (Lerner), the Backyard Safari series and Careers with Animals (Cavendish Square). Born and raised in the Pacific Northwest, Trudi still lives in the Seattle area with her husband and their three cats. She loves photography, painting, and all things chocolate. Visit her website at www.truditrueit.com.  Follow her on Facebook. Find out about her Skype visits here.

Leave a Reply

