@NatashaWing #BackToSchool Memories!

Author Natasha Wing

Tasha

It’s back-to-school time! What do you remember from starting Kindergarten?

I couldn’t wait to go to Kindergarten! I got ready by practicing my alphabet, trimming up my bangs,and buying new clothes, pencils, paper and a lunchbox. To this day I still love newly-sharpened pencils.

 

Did you like school?Natasha Wing

Loved it! I was a curious kid who enjoyed learning so I was a good student. I loved my teachers.

Did you like to write as a child?

Yes! My mom saved a few of my stories and apparently I liked squirrels. I may have to write a squirrel story.

 

Wing officeWhen did you know you wanted to be an author?

I didn’t know until I was 32. I was working at a newspaper after college, then at my own PR firm, and was looking for something more creative. I remembered how much I liked working with artists and loved writing fiction stories, so I gave it a shot. Luckily, a publisher took my first story and I was hooked!

Wing cat
Where do you write your stories now?

I have an office at home in Fort Collins, CO where I’m surrounded by books and fun art. I like to write in that space because it feels like a place where I can concentrate and create. My cat, Purrsia, likes to sleep on my desk and walk in front of my monitor.

What’s your latest creative project?

There are more new Night Befores on the way. The next one out in October is The Night Before My Dance Recital. Then next year is The Night Before the New Pet. Between the pet book and an early chapter book I’m working on about a Haunted Dog House, I’ve been inspired to draw dogs. Buddy the Labrador is a character in my story. I’m also painting dog portraits and plan to give a percentage to All Aboard Animal Rescue in Colorado.

Buddybetter

How can students meet you?

I love to Skype to classrooms. I also do classroom visits. Kids – and parents and teachers, too – can like me on my Facebook author fan page (https://www.facebook.com/natashawingbooks) and send me questions there and find out the latest on my books. I’m always open to new Night Before ideas!


About 
Natasha Wing

NB Dance RecitalNatasha Wing is the bestselling author of The Night Before series, and the ALA Notable book, An Eye for Color: The Story of Josef Albers. Her new book, The Night Before the Fourth of July, illustrated by Amy Wummer, came out on May 12, 2015, and is the twentieth book in the Night Before series. Her next book The Night Before My Dance Recital comes out October 27th, 2015 and is available for preorder.

She offers Skype and in person school visits.  For more information, check her website, like her on Facebook, and follow her on Goodreads!

 Contact us today to schedule an event at your school!

One thought on “@NatashaWing #BackToSchool Memories!

Leave a Reply

